06s Set For National Tournament

Apr 19, 2021 | Craig Peterson

Shattuck-St. Mary's 14U forward Cole Eiserman looks across the ice.

USA Hockey Nationals set for the top 16 teams in the country

There were 181 triple-A teams in the U.S. at the 2006-birth year this season, and after seven months, that field has been reduced to just 16 teams in search of a USA Hockey Nationals champion. Set to take place in Irving, Texas, nine of the teams heading to the Lone Star State later this month were among WHH’s top 25 teams in the world. There are 16 different national tournaments taking place in April across various skill levels for boys and girls, but the 14U Tier-I bracket may be the most competitive and volatile of the bunch. Top teams will be on full display, but several others will make a case to play Cinderella and spoil the favorite’s championship run.

The tournament format, according to USA Hockey, for a 16-team seeded Tier-I youth event involves breaking down the field into four pools of teams based on MyHockeyRankings. That means the four pools should be:

Shattuck-St. Mary’sBishop KearneyBoston Jr. EaglesNortheast Wisconsin Jr. Gamblers
New Jersey ColonialsChicago MissionLA Jr. KingsMount St. Charles
St. Louis AAA BluesMinuteman FlamesCompuwarePittsburgh Penguins Elite
Team North DakotaTeam MarylandColorado ThunderbirdsNJ Avalanche

Each team will play three games in-pool and after that process is completed, the top two teams from each pool will advance to an eight-team single-elimination bracket. That bracket will also be seeded based on standings at nationals: USA #1 vs. OLY #2, LIB #1 vs. NHL #2, OLY #1 vs. USA #2 and NHL #1 vs. LIB #2. The home team for the subsequent semifinals and championship games will also be determined based on this criteria.

The six-day tournament is slated to begin at 10:00 a.m. CT, on Wednesday, April 28th, at the Children’s Health StarCenter in Irving and Euless, Texas. All the action will be live-streamed on HockeyTV.com and we will have wall-to-wall coverage of the tournament throughout the week. Follow us on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and YouTube for more USA Hockey Nationals news.




For 10% off your next order

Recent News

Follow Us

Latest Podcasts

Episode 79: Parents Paying, Switching Positions and a Voicemail
Episode 95: Life Stories with Steve Dubinsky
Episode 94: Hacks to Get Back To Hockey Season
Episode 91: What Junior Scouts Look For
Episode 223: Culture and team-building expert, Lee Elias
Episode 89: Three Things To Say To Your Kids Before They Step On The Ice

More Headlines

The Central Ontario Wolves celebrate winning the U16 Steve Richey Memorial Tournament of Champions.
Wolves edge Petes in tight-checking championship game
Luke Matthews, forward for 2006 born U.S. youth hockey team Chicago Mission takes to the ice.
‘06 Chicago, SSM set to close out season series
Travis Zajac salutes the crowd at a New Jersey Devils game at Prudential Center.
Former NHL forward steps behind the bench for youth team
Hudson Gill, defenseman for 2006-born U.S. youth hockey team Bishop Kearney Selects prepares for a faceoff.
Increased movement within U.S. rankings across multiple birth years
2009-born Swedish youth hockey team Nacka HK celebrates a Series A championship at the 2023 Göteborg Cup.
Nacka Survives and Advances through GIC
‘08 Vaughan Kings surrender just five goals against to win Silver Sticks