Field finalized For 15s

Apr 19, 2021 | Craig Peterson

Sporting neon green jerseys, the 15U Chicago Mission hockey team poses on the ice for a championship photo.

The Last Automatic and At-Large bids Awarded for USA Hockey Nationals

The 2020-21 youth hockey season officially began on September 1st for U.S.-based teams. After 230 days of jam-packed league schedules, weekend tournaments and showcases, as well as pauses, delays and travel restrictions in the midst of COVID-19, the top 16 teams have been finalized for USA Hockey Nationals. The majority received automatic bids from winning their respective district playoffs, while five others received at-large bids. Among the 16 are 11 that ranked in the Top 25 teams in the world last month, and in a few short weeks, USA Hockey will crown a national champion.

The tournament format, according to USA Hockey, for a 16-team seeded Tier-I youth event involves breaking down the field into four pools of teams based on MyHockeyRankings. That means, the four pools should be:

Chicago MissionMid-Fairfield Jr. RangersHoneyBakedChicago Young Americans
Shattuck-St. Mary’sNJ AvalancheFlorida AllianceCompuware
Buffalo Jr. SabresTeam WisconsinPittsburgh Penguins EliteDallas Stars Elite
Sioux Falls PowerTeam AlaskaMount St. CharlesMN Blue Ox

Each team will play three games in-pool and after that process is completed, the top two teams from each pool will advance to an eight-team single-elimination bracket. That bracket will also be seeded based on standings at nationals: USA #1 vs. OLY #2, LIB #1 vs. NHL #2, OLY #1 vs. USA #2 and NHL #1 vs. LIB #2. The home team for the subsequent semifinals and championship games will also be determined based on this criteria.

The six-day USA Hockey Nationals tournament is slated to begin at 10:00 a.m. CT, on Wednesday, April 28th, at the Children’s Health StarCenter in Euless, Texas. All the action will be live-streamed on and we will have wall-to-wall coverage of the tournament throughout the week. Follow us on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook and YouTube for more USA Hockey Nationals news.




For 10% off your next order

Recent News

Follow Us

Latest Podcasts

Episode 79: Parents Paying, Switching Positions and a Voicemail
Episode 95: Life Stories with Steve Dubinsky
Episode 94: Hacks to Get Back To Hockey Season
Episode 91: What Junior Scouts Look For
Episode 223: Culture and team-building expert, Lee Elias
Episode 89: Three Things To Say To Your Kids Before They Step On The Ice

More Headlines

The Central Ontario Wolves celebrate winning the U16 Steve Richey Memorial Tournament of Champions.
Wolves edge Petes in tight-checking championship game
Luke Matthews, forward for 2006 born U.S. youth hockey team Chicago Mission takes to the ice.
‘06 Chicago, SSM set to close out season series
Travis Zajac salutes the crowd at a New Jersey Devils game at Prudential Center.
Former NHL forward steps behind the bench for youth team
Hudson Gill, defenseman for 2006-born U.S. youth hockey team Bishop Kearney Selects prepares for a faceoff.
Increased movement within U.S. rankings across multiple birth years
2009-born Swedish youth hockey team Nacka HK celebrates a Series A championship at the 2023 Göteborg Cup.
Nacka Survives and Advances through GIC
‘08 Vaughan Kings surrender just five goals against to win Silver Sticks