State Champs in the State of Hockey

Apr 5, 2021 | Craig Peterson

Eden Prairie players celebrate by throwing gloves, sticks and helmets into the air.

Minnesota Finals Feature Two Bids At Undefeated Seasons

The Minnesota high school state playoffs concluded on Saturday, with Class-AA and Class-A championship games at Xcel Energy Center. Both matchups featured teams looking to finish the season undefeated. Gentry Academy entered the Class-A final with an 18-0-0 record while Lakeville South came to the Class-AA championship with a 20-0-2 record.

Gentry Academy left little doubt as to who the top team in Class-A was, after out-scoring opponents 21-4 in three state tournament games, including an 8-1 finish in the championship. ‘03 forward Damon Furuseth tallied a goal and three assists in the finale, leading the Galaxy in scoring as he did all season long with 16 goals and 49 points. Classmate Nick Sajevic finished his own perfect season, adding a goal and an assist to successfully record at least one point in every game for Gentry Academy this season. 

The Class-AA final was filled with drama, as two of the top teams in the state tangled. Eden Prairie’s high-powered offense averaged 5.2 goals per game; almost as impressive as Lakeville South’s 6.0 average. However, it was the goalies who stole the show, as a pair of ‘02s in Cody Ticen and Zach Hayes combined to stop 58-of-60 shots faced. Expecting and offensive onslaught but caught in a 1-1 stalemate, the two teams skated to a tie deep into two overtimes. 

Then, 2:06 into the second OT, ‘03 forward Jackson Blake buried a rebound to break the deadlock and bring Eden Prairie its third Minnesota state championship in the school’s history. Blake is verbally committed to play college hockey for the University of North Dakota and is one-of-four players from EP with Division-I commitments. 

#Ploffs season is in full effect. The State of Hockey crowned its champions for 2021, USA Hockey Districts are in the midst of naming champions and awarding bids to Nationals, and Russia’s District championships at several age groups have concluded as well. Got a playoff hockey update for us? Text WHH to 603-541-7772.




For 10% off your next order

Recent News

Follow Us

Latest Podcasts

Episode 79: Parents Paying, Switching Positions and a Voicemail
Episode 95: Life Stories with Steve Dubinsky
Episode 94: Hacks to Get Back To Hockey Season
Episode 91: What Junior Scouts Look For
Episode 223: Culture and team-building expert, Lee Elias
Episode 89: Three Things To Say To Your Kids Before They Step On The Ice

More Headlines

Filip Michalski, forward for 2007-born Swedish youth hockey team Djurgårdens IF skates with the puck.
Five teams from five different countries that dominated youth hockey in January
The 2008-born U.S. youth hockey team Dallas Stars Elite celebrate a goal.
‘08 Dallas Stars Elite set a club record with 20 consecutive victories
Drew Glasser, forward for 2008-born U.S. youth hockey team Pittsburgh Penguins Elite sets for a faceoff.
‘08, ‘09 Penguins Elite teams jump up world rankings
Nikita Okunev and 2006-born Russian youth hockey team CSKA Moscow celebrate a goal.
Top Russian ‘06 squads square off for the third time
2007-born Northern Alberta Xtreme celebrate winning the Western Canadian Crown Invitational.
Stewart, Raynard backstop club to repeat championship
Team Antropov-Carnegie-Nolan won the 2023 GTHL Top Prospects Game.
Top 40 2007-born players take part in 13th Annual GTHL event